And then *poof* the calendar turned a page…

If you follow our blog, you may be wondering, “Where have you been?!” If you follow us on Facebook or get our newsletters, you know exactly where we’ve been: going crazy.

That’s right. We’ve been going crazy the last few weeks. I blame my parents.

My dad did his retirement thing in June and then decided it’d be fun to pack up and move to Florida. Yet, not move to Florida. And yet, move everything they own to Florida. Or, most of it. Confused yet? Welcome to our July.

Brian is currently IN Florida and won’t be home until sometime this weekend. My dad made one trip to Florida the beginning of July to take some things and do some work in the condo. Then it was mad packing for them as they got ready for closing on their house on July 21. Brian helped load the trailer, but the day before closing it was obvious the trailer was just not quite big enough. And that’s when the skies opened up.

Literally, actually.

I walked through my parent’s home one last time with my children, then took them home to feed them and get them to bed before my parents showed up to spend the night. We were home about 30 minutes when the skies let loose and it POURED! Our power blinked and then *poof* – nothing. We never lose power, so my children had no idea what was going on and of course, good ol’ me, was ever the unprepared mother! I found little battery-operated candles and read to my children by candlelight since the storm had made the world very, very dark.

Brian didn’t get home Thursday until 10:30pm and then spent a good chunk of the night trying to fix MRF’s generator and on the phone with the power company. He actually brought the spotter up our road and showed him the giant tree on the lines. At 4am, the power truck came up the road, passed said tree, turned around in our driveway, and left. The main road at the bottom of ours got power at 5:30am. We had nothin’. The entire MRF road was dark. After many more phone calls, we finally got someone to tell us we were next in line and by 2pm, our lights turned back on. Woo hoo!

In between phone calls, Brian was finishing up cleaning out my parent’s house before the final walk-through of the buyers. My parents scrambled out the door for closing. We crashed a friend’s house for lunch since I literally had nothing to feed my family that was not in the fridge (again, great mom-award to this one right here). My sister and brother-in-law arrived from Vermont moments after power got restored (literally, the truck was coming back down the hill as they were going up). Andy, my brother-in-law, took one look at the trailer and said, “No way is that going to Florida.” At 4pm, they were busy unloading the trailer in order to turn back around and reload it all into a rented U-haul trailer. The guys finally pulled out at 7pm Friday.

Everything is unloaded and in the condo. Everything in the condo coming back to MRF is loaded up. But, there’s still work to do as the condo is in shambles and my dad wants it nice for when they arrive in September, so Brian will help get it ready (Andy flew home tonight) and then they’ll make their way back home.

Thankfully, my mom is able to live here at MRF while they’re gone. She’s right next door and at my every beck and call. Well, not really. But, it is nice to say to the kids, “Yes, please, go see Grandma!”

Here at MRF, Brian was running like a mad man trying to finish projects before he left. He was roofing the shed last Wednesday (thankfully with a team and not alone!) and installing the garage door so power could go in while he was gone (which it has). He had other random jobs to do, but with no electricity on Friday, he couldn’t exactly do the electrical jobs that were left!

It’s also nice having my mom next door because she’s helping me inventory the place. Since she’s essentially living there for a few days, she is helping me figure out how to better arrange the kitchen and what kitchen items need replacing before new guests arrive Saturday. This is quite helpful!

As for me, I feel like I sit and write every spare moment I get. I’m working on three articles for the BCM World plus a submission to a mom blog that got accepted (woohoo for that, too!). I’m writing some other material and having that critiqued, which also takes time. Now it’s late enough in the summer that I am full-on planning for the fall, as well as revamping teams and scheduling trainings and staff meetings. The Family Carnival is literally one month away, so all of that is kicked into high-gear, too. I’m now meeting weekly with one of our Kidz Konnect girls for discipleship time. Oh, and I have my own three kids on summer vacation!

If you think of our family this week, please pray for us without Brian and safety for Brian and my dad while they’re gone. Pray for me to prioritize my to-do list and to be wise about what has to get done and when it’s due by. Pray for Brian to be able to relax while he’s gone and not stress about work that’s not done yet up here or things he has to do as soon as he gets home.

I’d leave you with a snappy picture, but I haven’t taken many lately, so just imagine three smiling kids right here:

Leave a Reply

