“Today’s the Day!”

P1100830

We do our best to read a Bible story or a children’s devotional each night before bed with the kids. We are far from 100% faithful, but we do our best. We’ve been working our way through the Jesus Storybook Bible {again}, which I cannot recommend highly enough, and last night, we made it to the final story.

P1100831The author, Sally Lloyd-Jones, does a beautiful job explaining Revelation in the simplest form possible. She succinctly describes the glory of heaven and the ultimate defeat of Satan in a way that is profound enough for adults, yet simple enough for children to grasp. She ends the whole thing with this:

John came to the end of his book. But he didn’t write “The End.” Because, of course, that’s how stories finish. (And this one’s not over yet).

So instead, he wrote: “Come quickly, Jesus!”

Which, perhaps is really just another way of saying…

P1100832

The kids looked at me and said, “That’s it? For real?” I had them grab a regular Bible and I showed them that yes, it really does end like that! A total cliff-hanger…because the story’s not done yet. We talked about how everything else in the rest of the Bible came true just like God said it would, so why wouldn’t the rest of it happen the same way? Jesus is coming back! And everything will be made new!

But, we don’t know when.

And my little boy jumped off the sofa, a huge smile on his face, and proclaimed:

Today’s the day I’ve been waiting for! I want to ask Jesus to take my sins away! I’m ready now!

Now, he’s known truth for quite awhile. He can repeat the Gospel back to me, no problem. But, for whatever reason, it hadn’t sunk down into his little heart. Every time I’d straight-up ask him, “Do you want to ask Jesus to be your Savior tonight?” He’d say, “No. Not yet. I want it to be perfectly quiet and do it all alone because I don’t want anyone to know.” He just wasn’t ready.

He was ready last night. I had his sister sit quietly next to me while I asked him questions to ensure he truly knew what he was doing because I am a firm believer of not scaring children into salvation with talks of hell, and hell had definitely come up in the last few minutes. I put all thoughts of heaven and hell aside and asked him if he knew what sin was, what sins he had committed, why couldn’t he be with God, what did God do for him so he could go to heaven, and what does he need to do in order to be with God? He knew it all. And before I could ask if he wanted to pray, he said, “Mommy, I want to pray right now!”

And right there, on our couch in the living room, my little boy had a sincere talk with God and became His child.

P1100829

The reality is that I wouldn’t have cared who led my boy to the Lord. It could’ve been one of his church teachers, a babysitter, or a grandparent for all I cared. We just want our children to know Jesus! But, the fact that Jesus has now allowed me to pray with two of my own children… I couldn’t be more ecstatic! Leading any child to Jesus is a privilege, a joy, and a humbling experience. To pray with my own kids? There are no words {and trust me, I usually have plenty}.

His big sister sat down next to him, gave him a big hug, and said, “And guess what? You don’t ever have to do this again because you are saved forever!”

I tucked her into bed and she looked at me and said, “Okay, Mommy, now we need to pray for James!” Absolutely, little girl! She even talked about how her brother is starting a new life now with a clean heart. Man, she gets it. She really gets it.

If you ever prayed for my children’s salvation, I thank you. You had a part in this, too!

The Gospel never ceases to amaze me. Only our God made salvation so simple, a 4 year old can comprehend it, yet so profound that we’ll spend our entire life never fully understanding all it entails.

2 thoughts on ““Today’s the Day!”

Leave a Reply

