It’s the most busiest time of the year…

We wear many hats, but like I’ve said before, very rarely do they align into a perfect storm.

But… sometimes they do. Like March. Possibly April. And definitely June. But, we’ll worry about that when the time comes.

A “perfect storm” for us just means lots of deadlines in a variety of different areas, all coming at the same time. Not unlike your life, I am sure! But, here’s what it looks like for us these days:

Currently, Brian is finishing up the printed edition of BCM World. His graphic design skills have greatly improved and this edition came together faster than the last two. But, it’s not quite done yet. Hopefully, it’ll just be a few more edits and then off to the printer!

While the print edition is almost complete, he is beginning the next e-version. The articles are arriving in his inbox, which means he has to begin sorting and adding pictures and layout, along with the building of multiple web pages and emails.

The beginning of each year also finds Brian doing updates on various BCM websites around the world. This year is no exception; he has quite a few requests for new websites and consultations planned in order to update old ones.

He does all that work after the kids are in bed. During the day, he’s been working on Unit #3 (click here for older pictures). Needing many updates, Brian has begun in the bathroom (this one has one and a half baths), which is currently emptied of everything but the tub… which, upon further inspection, will also vacate the premises later this week. He’s praying the wall behind the tub is fine, otherwise this job just got even bigger. The house is a mess; I think he said he has six weeks to finish… I hope that’s enough!

As for me, I have my article for this edition of the BCM World well underway, but nowhere near completion. March is my month for trainings, but unexpected meetings also cropped up at church, which involved a substantial amount of prep work. This Saturday, I head to New Jersey to train a group of 30 Chinese in children’s ministry. I’ll meet a friend and BCM Appointee there and we will co-train, relieving some of that burden. Then on the 25th is the annual training day for our church that I lead. Of course there’s prep, plans, and programs in between then, too. Oh, and an impromptu trip to Connecticut to spend some much-needed time with my big sister for her birthday! I am SO EXCITED for our time together even if it will equal only about 24 hours in the end!

Naturally, we all got sick on top of it all. Like clockwork. Every time we get super busy (and every time the BCM World is due), we get sick. I had zero voice Thursday (much to my boys’ great amusement!) and spent Saturday in bed. I just hope Brian doesn’t get it as bad.

As for the kids… they’re holding up just fine. E is getting ready to loose a top tooth (which is big news for any six year old). Big J has finally discovered coloring! He LOVES to color and very carefully roll (not fold – roll) each precious picture and tape them closed as gifts for his family, especially big sister for her return from school. Baby J has adequately learned the word “No.” I’m really hoping he’ll move on from that one soon and learn something a little more pleasant, like “Yes!” I’d even settle for his big brother’s real name, “Joe!”, not just his nickname of, “No!”, that is usually screeched repeatedly all day long.

I finally found my camera. I leave you with a few recent pictures:

p1100274

We had a nasty weather system move through the end of February – you may have seen on the news that a tornado touched down in our general area. If you look closely, the brown sludge out there is a river of water washing away our driveway. Our phones gave us tornado warnings all evening, but my dear mid-western husband sat on the porch and watched it roll in until it began to hail and kept yelling through the porch, “Doesn’t look like a tornado to me!” And then during a little delay in the storm, he threw on his boots and went outside to unplug the drains – which actually saved us from a very flooded basement, so I’m not going to complain too loudly! I’m also thankful he had the foresight to quickly return the metal-handled rake to the basement as soon as he heard thunder.

p1100293

E had spirit week at school. Thanks to some friends, we got her all dressed up as a little pink cowgirl for one of the days!

p1100309

Dancing Skill Nite during Wednesday evening kid’s program last week. So fun! We followed it up with a talent show and my daughter wanted to show off her art, but I think she instead showed that she loves to teach (don’t know where she got that from…)

 

One thought on “It’s the most busiest time of the year…

Leave a Reply

