Welcome, Rainy February

Just got home from taking our daughter to school. Yet another 2-hour delay! Freezing rain is such a pain. Now it’s warmed up and just plain raining. Feels more like spring than February! I’m afraid it’s just being deceptive.

Brian is out with a board member purchasing a tractor for MRF! This was approved by the board at their meeting and Brian is ecstatic. A tractor will be so helpful out here in the woods! He’s had to just borrow one the last four years; it’ll be nice to have one that belongs to MRF.

The two empty houses are getting nice makeovers right now. The kitchen in one home had lots of cabinets, but one of them was literally falling off the ceiling. It had always housed an overload of dishes and had finally succumbed to the weight. Brian removed it and then stabilized a few other cabinets since the home is not new and the cabinets have been bowing for awhile.

The other house has had a mice issue for quite awhile, but when you have constant residents for more than two years, it’s hard for Brian to get in and really assess the cause of the mice issue. He finally figured it out. Unfortunately, they had built a nest above the oven, inside the range hood! What a mess! That’s been disgusting to clean out and repair, but he’s basically done now. He’s also replaced a toilet that was obviously installed in the ’70’s!

My job now will be to go in to both houses and rearrange the kitchens and cabinets, as well as remake the beds and fold all the laundry. I’ll also need to finish cleaning once Brian is done with all the repairs.

At church, we are preparing to take the Wednesday night kids to a local nursing home on the 15th. They have made just about 60 sun catchers and will finish them up tomorrow night. We have about 30 kids that we’ll be taking to the home. It’s an endeavor, but we’re really looking forward to it!

Last week, for the first time in a long time, I completely messed up my schedule. I had written down the wrong dates for the Clarks Summit University ministry conference! So, I’m making dinner Tuesday evening and hear my phone beep — it’s an email reminding me to be on the campus by 6pm to set up! oops. The bigger complication was that we had a friend visiting for the week and I had specifically told her last week was better than this week because of the conference! Oh good grief. She ended up coming with me all three days and it was absolutely wonderful having her along! The conference went well and I had a few good conversations with students. I may have messed up, but it still worked out just fine.

Two personal family notes:

  • Brian is in the process of becoming an elder at our church. He was nominated by a church member awhile ago. We prayed (a lot!) about it until he finally accepted the nomination. He was questioned by the existing elder and pastoral team, who unanimously approved of him. This past Sunday, after a fellowship dinner, he was questioned by the church body. It went very well. I was so proud of him because being questioned isn’t, obviously, his most favorite thing to do. But, he answered so well and our church family is so supportive. It ended up being an encouraging time.
  • I leave Friday evening for Beth Moore’s LIT Conference in Houston – a one-day event on Saturday, specifically designed for women who want to use writing, teaching, and speaking as a ministry. Will you pray with me that this trip will be beneficial and that I will use what I learn right away? I know God wants me to do more with my writing and I would love to teach more than just children. I’m praying this conference gets me moving in 2017. I have a wonderfully supportive husband who is fully behind me, too. I got an email this morning from Beth Moore saying that everyone at her office has handwritten all 744 names of the attendees and are praying over them – by name. They prayed every name out loud, then posted all the sticky notes around the building so they could pray for us by name the rest of the week. I am thrilled that I get to be part of this group and I can’t wait to see what God does! Pray for my trip (I hate traveling alone) and for Brian home with the kids (just until Sunday night). My daughter, especially, has a hard time when I’m not home. Thankfully, they have an amazing dad, so I’m not worried.

Still no pictures… I have slacked off this month and will regret it later, I’m sure! You’ll just have to believe me that the houses look great, the kids are still cute, and it’s white and cold outside. Oh wait – here’s one from right now!

img_20170207_105814645-1
How we roll: color wonder markers, squished on the small couch when the big one is completely vacant, talking to Mommy constantly while I try to work. 🙂
Published by

Brian & Lisa

We are missionaries with Bible Centered Ministries International, living and serving in NEPA.

One thought on “Welcome, Rainy February”

Leave a Reply

