6 Years?!

elena

How, how, HOW can it be possible that she is 6?! I go through this every year, and yet somehow, I feel like 6 is a real milestone. I don’t know why.

This little one arrived with a bang and has been surprise after struggle after surprise ever since. She is strong-willed (as evidenced by her delivery – she refuses to conform to the ‘normal’ way of doing anything… from her own birth to how she wears her socks…), independent, yet strangely dependent, friendly, and imaginative. She is super creative and artistic with a beautiful singing voice. She can be extremely obedient, helpful, and caring when she wants to be. 😉

Watching her grow in school has been spectacular. Now, I get to teach her in church, too, since she’s in 1st grade. Just yesterday I watched her join in with all the other kids playing gaga ball and I just couldn’t believe she was big enough to be in the fray with everyone else. She is smart, inquisitive, and just pure lovely inside and out.

I think my heart’s desire for E is that she does not grow bitter towards us being in ministry. Her love language is quality time and sometimes it’s very difficult to give it to her in the quantity that she so desperately needs. This year will be all about my own priorities as I learn to respect her need of, well, me. My other desire is to see her heart shaped to be more like her Savior – to let Him more fully control her attitude and her will. She has great potential; I hope she lets herself be directed well.

I love this girl with everything in me. I’m so glad she’s ours. Happy birthday, baby girl.

p1080736

Published by

Brian & Lisa

We are missionaries with Bible Centered Ministries International, living and serving in NEPA.

One thought on “6 Years?!”

Leave a Reply

