The Training Day

P1050047

Last year, I held my first Recognition & Training Day for the children’s ministry. It was one of those things that you just don’t know if it will be a success or not, but I knew it was necessary. On the 21st, I held my 2nd Annual Recognition & Training Day (and yes, I’m aware it needs a much catchier name!). Pretty much as soon as last year ended, I had ideas for this year then began serious preparations in December. There are 80+ volunteers in the children’s ministry if you include nursery volunteers; 55 who work in the 2’s on up. Out of those 55, I had 38 show up! This was a BIG blessing to me. I really think the day went very, very well and have gotten some good feedback from the volunteers. It’s a lot of work… and hopefully next year I won’t be 8 months pregnant while I do it… but it’s worth it.

P1050056

As much as I love teaching BCM’s In Step with the Master Teacher, I know that my volunteers hearing ME do the teaching is not beneficial to anyone. So, I invited a good friend and BCM co-worker, Becky, to do the vast majority of the teaching. Becky and I worked in Peru together for 3 of our 4 years; her family just transitioned back to the States in February after 5 years there. We had very different ministries and lives in Peru, yet we had so much in common and got to be close friends. We both had babies in Peru – with the same doctor – and her family moved into the home Brian built for us when we left. It was wonderful having her teach and then catching up afterwards.

With BCM: The print version of the BCM World is AT the printers! Praise God! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

At MRF: Work has somewhat slowed, though by no means ended, on the remodel. The apartment is, I believe, completely finished (if it’s not 100% done, it’s definitely close!). Brian has spent most of the week in the first half of the duplex doing mudding, sheet rock, and painting. He’s sore from working over his head for something like 6 hours a shot per day, but the work is getting accomplished at least!

At home: Many of you know that we have been looking for a small car to replace one of our vans. We found a great van at the end of the summer and having two vans just seemed impractical. We tried to sell the first van during the fall and Brian literally didn’t even get one person interested in it. He took the listing off and we decided to wait a few months. He looked for a car for us all winter and again, nothing. He started looking after the new year and in the last month, a lot more diligently. In the course of one weekend, he found a car in our price range, exactly what we were looking for, and ended up purchasing it. He listed our van for sale a week ago and it has generated a lot of interest. It’s not sold yet, but we’re confident it’ll happen soon. What’s So God is that we ended up needing the van all winter and being glad we had it and not a car! God knows what we need and the timing we need it in, that’s for sure.

Also at home, the idea of baby #3 arriving in a month is finally hitting home. Baby clothes have been gone through and the kids’ rooms are being rearranged. Lists are being made. Friends are already being so generous in loaning baby items and digging through their closets for baby clothes! We are so grateful for our church family. The kids are excited. They talk to the baby and love to feel him kick and watch him jump with hiccups and wiggle around. You can be praying for me this month. I closed out my team’s unit of Kidz Alive (Sunday children’s church) today. My last Wednesday Kidz Konnect is April 8. I have helpers lined up to be my go-to’s while I’m gone. I just have a few more large responsibilities to undertake before I can rest fully before baby arrives.

We wish a beautiful Palm Sunday and an exciting Easter Week! Thanks for praying for us!

Leave a Reply

