This Week:

I’m basically ready to teach our church’s Pioneer Club kids on Wednesday night! I haven’t taught in awhile and I’m SO looking forward to sharing about Peru with them! I’m equipped with videos, pictures, games, and songs. I am praying that this will be a fun, informative night for them, but will also encourage them to be missionaries as well. I was seven years old when I knew God had called me to be a missionary. One of the things I loved growing up was hearing missionaries speak in our church. I loved Vacation Bible School because we would have “a real live missionary” speak during the week and I always thought that was so cool. I hope there’s at least one kid on Wednesday night who the Lord touches to be a missionary.

Other than prepping for other courses we’ll be teaching (myself and Brian and I as a couple), things are pretty quiet here. We’re potty training Elena, who is turning out to be a quick learner! phew. 🙂 Both of the kids ran fevers last week for a few days and have been fighting colds, but nothing serious came of it, praise the Lord! And now, the weather is feeling more and more like SPRING, which means more time outside! yay!

Brian and I were talking on our way to church yesterday about how strange it is to see a season change again. Peru has “seasons” but nothing as drastically obvious as in the States. In a way, I’m a little sad to see winter go – I have really enjoyed the snow, hot chocolate, and sweaters. But, I’m looking forward to spring – open windows, sunny days, lighter jackets. We haven’t spent spring in the States in four years and it’s still a little odd to be here while the snow melts and the birds return! We watched some geese return yesterday – flying WAY up high, just little sparkles of white against a perfectly blue sky in the early morning hours. There must have been literally thousands, all in various sizes of “v’s”. It was one of the most beautiful things I think I’ve ever seen. To everything there is a season – even a season for birds to return from the south.

Hope you’re enjoying spring as much as we are! I’m especially looking forward to using the next couple of weeks to introduce Elena to the resurrection story – the best part of springtime! One of the things I’m planning on doing is this: http://eatatallies.com/2011/04/resurrection-rolls/ She may not completely get it yet, but it sure doesn’t hurt to start now!

my great kids - i hope they keep this relationship as they get older!

my great kids – i hope they keep this relationship as they get older!

Leave a Reply

