What is truth?

Yes, the question that Pontius Pilate grappled with the day he consented to crucify Christ was the question we grappled with today. It’s horribly confusing and I’m not going into it all here. But, basically, what they brought up was that what looks true to us has actually been greatly influenced by our culture, not necessarily by solely the Word of God. So, truth looks different in every culture. In America, we consider cheating on a test as a form of stealing. In the Far East, they consider not sharing your answers a much, much bigger sin than sharing your answers so everyone does well. What is truth? What is sin? Is it culturally defined or is it all clearly laid our in Scripture? Here’s the end to the “Reflection Paper” I wrote today about it. It won’t clear anything up, but at least you can see a tad of what Brian and I (and the others here) are working through.

So, “what is truth?” Christ. He is the only truth and He is the only One that can reveal truth to each individual heart. He’s molded my view of truth many times; I’m sure He’s not done yet. I’m excited to work with another culture because I hope that it will broaden my view of truth – which, in reality, will broaden my view of Christ. Isn’t my goal to know Him better and more fully? I cannot imagine a better way to do that than to enter another culture, another worldview, another epistemology, and learn from them. It’s not going to be easy, but God never promised that either. He did promise me a Helper Who will guide me into all truth, regardless of what country I happen to be in at the time.

Published by

Brian & Lisa

We are missionaries with Bible Centered Ministries International, living and serving in NEPA.

One thought on “What is truth?”

  1. Hi !
    Praying for you to retain what you learn ! Looks like you are learning a lot in many different ways. How wonderful.!!
    I’m reading in Hebrews lately … so much to challenge and encourage us in that book! Here is something for you guys:

    “May the God of peace, who through the blood of the covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing His will and may he work in (you) what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever.”
    Love,
    Geni

Leave a Reply

